Downers Grove Grade School District 58 celebrated this year’s Select 58 recipients at a formal awards banquet at Herrick Middle School on Wednesday, May 10. Select 58 is an Education Foundation of Downers Grove District 58 program that honors eighth graders who provide outstanding service to their school and community.


The event featured introductions by Herrick Principal Matt Neustadt and Superintendent Dr. Kari Cremascoli; entertainment by the Downers Grove South Madrigal Choir; speeches by District 58 alumni James Krick and Lydia Walsh-Rock; and a delicious Aramark-catered dinner.


The recipients also enjoyed a unique focal point — a beautiful cake that depicted all Select 58 students, courtesy of Downers Grove resident Cathy Oriatti. The event closed with the distribution of Select 58 plaques, courtesy of Blooming Color, and sweatshirts, courtesy of Holy Cow Sports. The event also featured photography services by Miles Boone Photography and flowers/decorations courtesy of Phillip’s Flowers and Gifts and Aramark.
Select 58 cake 2017






Congrats to the 2017 Select 58 award recipients!

Herrick Select 58 2017








Erin Beatty

Justin Berghorst

Ann Bieda

Carissa Blumka

Elijah Chen

Emma Cho

Elizabeth Cremer

Hannah Crowe

Carson Diehl

Carrie Drobnik

Lindsey Good

Jillian Kartsounes

Aisling Kerr

Nathan Kerr

Saoirse Kerr

Emily Koors

Matthew Lupescu

Sarah Lupescu

Lucas Marra

Grace McTigue

Julia Niemiec

Noah Pardue

Erin Peters

Tressa Rapach

Matthew Rowley

Benjamin Schaub

Andrew Swenson

Ashleigh Szydlowski

Arden Zajack

O'Neill Select 58 2017








August Balicki

Michael Beirne

Andrew Calek

Patrick Carlson

Mary Davenport

Sierra Donaldson

Matthew Frauendorff

Abby Fredricks

Josephina Gadzala

Rainu George

Julia Grippo

Logan Henderson

Gerda Jucys

Dillon Kohls

Kyle Kotovsky

Diana Kwak

Matthew Leinart

Elliott Lewis

Katherine McGuire

Alexandra Meyers

Ariel Oh

Brian Parilla

Eliza Peters

Sara Scolan

Teagan Smith

Kendall Swider

Benjamin Tunney

Riley Vernon

Riley Vondrasek


This year’s Select 58 judges included Foundation directors Roberta Diehl, Swapna Gigani and Kevin Murphy as well as community members Jill Donaldson, James Kelly and Bruce Swanson. The planning committee included Community Relations Coordinator Megan Hewitt, Herrick Secretary Ann Russ and Foundation Director Laura Taylor, with assistance from Herrick Principal Matt Neustadt, O’Neill Principal Matt Durbala and O’Neill secretaries Amy Peters and Lisa Wojdyla.