The South East Association for Special Parks And Recreation (SEASPAR) Flag Football Team – also known as the SEASPAR Spartans ­– finished out the 2019 Flag Football Season as the division TD3 State Champions held at the Avanti Dome in Perkin, Ill.


Flag Football is the newest of sports introduced to SEASPAR’s lineup of Special Olympic options it offers to its residents. Therefore SEASPAR’s philosophy towards competitive play in the sport was to provide each athlete with the necessary resources needed to play and have fun, regardless of the outcome. Unbeknownst to all, the Spartans had a different idea.


The competition standing in the Spartans’ road to victory was experienced, skilled, and unwilling to go home empty-handed. Luckily for the Spartans, courage, determination, and a bit of luck was on their side. After a nail-biting victory over the Mann Park Superstars, the Spartans were handed a win, clinching their first-ever championship title in the sport.


SEASPAR’s Special Olympics Flag Football State Championship team and gold medal winners included:


  • Connor Brennan of Western Springs
  • Michael Drabik of Woodridge
  • Kathy Esposito of Lisle
  • Nick Lojas of Brookfield
  • Corey McGinnis of Downers Grove
  • Wayne Neumann of Westmont
  • Gavin Scott of Brookfield
  • David Svitak of Downers Grove
  • Karl Urycki of LaGrange
  • Samantha Wagner of Woodridge
  • Randy Paungam of LCSRA of Plainfield



SEASPAR trains athletes for Special Olympics competitions in Alpine Skiing, Athletics (track and field), Basketball, Bocce, Bowling, Flag Football, Floor Hockey, Golf, Gymnastics, Powerlifting, Soccer, Softball, Snowshoeing, Swimming, Tennis, and Volleyball. SEASPAR’s athletes compete in Special Olympics events throughout the year.


For more information about SEASPAR’s Special Olympics program or other recreational programs and services for individuals with disabilities, visit or call 630-960-7600.